CAS-TWAS President’s Postgraduate Fellowship Programme in China, 2014 Read more: 2014 CAS-TWAS Postgraduate Fellowships for Developing Countries, China : 2013 2014 Scholarship Positions

Applications are invited for CAS-TWAS President’s Postgraduate Fellowship Programme from the citizens of developing countries other than China. These postgraduate fellowships are awarded up to 140 students per year for PhD study and research. Applicants must be maximum age of 35 years on 31 December 2014. These postgraduate fellowships are awarded for 4 years which include maximum 1 year study of courses and participation in centralized training, including 4 months compulsory courses in Chinese Language and Culture and Practical research and completion of degree thesis. Application deadline is 28th February 2014.

Study Subject (s): Fellowships are provided to learn any of the courses.
Course Level: Fellowships are available for PhD study and research at the University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS), the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) or Institutes of CAS around China.
Scholarship Provider: Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)
Scholarship can be taken at: China

Eligibility: Applicants must:
-Be maximum age of 35 years on 31 December 2014;
-Not take up other assignments during the period of his/her fellowship;
-Be a citizen of a developing country other than China;
-Not hold any visa for temporary or permanent residency in China or in any developed country;
-Be financially responsible for any accompanying family member.
Applicants for PhD study should also:
-Meet the admission criteria for international students of UCAS/USTC
-Hold a master degree before the beginning of the fall semester: September, 2014.
-Provide evidence that s/he will return to their home country on completion of their studies in China according to CAS-TWAS agreement.
-Provide proof of knowledge of English or Chinese language.

Scholarship Open for International Students: Students of developing countries other than China (Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African, Republic Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary,Indonesia, India, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint- Vincent and the Grenadines, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe) can apply for these postgraduate fellowships.

Scholarship Description: According to a new agreement between the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and TWAS, the academy of sciences for the developing world, up to 140 students per year from the developing world will be sponsored to travel to China for up to four years’ of PhD study and research. This CAS-TWAS President’s Fellowship Programme provides students/scholars from developing countries (other than China) an opportunity to pursue PhD degrees at the University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS), the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) or Institutes of CAS around China. Under the terms of the new CAS-TWAS agreement, travel from their home countries to China will be provided to the fellowship awardees in order to begin the fellowship in China (one trip only per student/scholar). Visa fee will also be covered (once only per student/scholar).

Number of award(s): Up to 140 students will be awarded per year.

Duration of award(s): The funding duration of the fellowship is 4 years, divided into:
-Maximum 1 year study of courses and participation in centralized training at UCAS/USTC, including 4 months compulsory courses in Chinese Language and Culture.
-Practical research and completion of degree thesis at colleges and schools of UCAS/USTC or CAS institutes.

What does it cover? Fellowship awardees will receive a monthly stipend (including accommodation and other living expenses, local travel expenses and health insurance) of RMB 7,000 or RMB 8,000 from CAS through UCAS/USTC, depending on whether he/she has passed the qualification test arranged by UCAS/USTC for all PhD candidates after admission. All awardees will also be provided tuition waivers. Any fellowship awardee who fails the qualification test twice will face the consequences including:
-Termination of his/her fellowship;
-Discontinuity of his/her PhD study at CAS institutions;
-Being conferred a diploma of completion instead of a PhD degree;

Selection Criteria: Not Known

Notification: Not Known

How to Apply: Once you have found the host supervisor, you must contact him/her via e-mail and inform that you wish to apply for the CAS-TWAS President’s fellowship.  Please send him/her an explanatory e-mail together with your CV and research proposal. If you are awarded, you must submit originals your university certificates AND transcripts to the UCAS or USTC office upon your arrival in China. You must send him/her an electronic copy of your whole application package in one zipped file and ask him/her to fill in the comment pages in “Application Form for CAS-TWAS President’s Fellowship Programme” and the “Admission Application Form for International Students”. Your supervisor will then send your whole application package including his/her comment pages to UCAS Fellowship office or USTC Fellowship office. Please do not send your application package directly to UCAS or USTC Fellowship office.

Scholarship Application Deadline: The application deadline is 28th February 2014.

Further Official Scholarship Information and Application



Muhammad Ramzan Rafique
Muhammad Ramzan Rafique

I am from a small town Chichawatni, Sahiwal, Punjab , Pakistan, studied from University of Agriculture Faisalabad, on my mission to explore world I am in Denmark these days..

Articles: 4630

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *